What is the Full Form of AFSPA?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Full Form of the word AFSPA is the Armed Forces Special Powers Act. Parliament launched a program that gives better powers to the Indian armed forces and state and paramilitary forces in “disturbed areas”. This AFSPA Act was made to balance law and order in disturbed places. It was established on 11 September 1958.

Table of content


Full form of AFSPA

The Armed Forces Special Powers Act, also known as AFSPA, was enacted by the Parliament in the year 1958. The Act is currently active in 31 districts and partially in 12 districts of 4 North Eastern States. The states that give extraordinary powers to the armed forces are Jammu and Kashmir, Nagaland, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, and Manipur.

  • As per the Disturbed Areas (Special Courts) Act, 1976, once declared disturbed, the area has to maintain the status quo for at least 6 months.
  • One such act was passed on 11 September 1958, which was then applicable to the Naga Hills part of Assam.
  • In the following decades, it spread, one after the other, to the other seven sister states in the North East of India.
  • Currently, it is applicable in the states of Assam, Nagaland, and Manipur (except the Imphal Municipal Council area).

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium