When did Nagaland Become an Indian State?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Nagaland became the 16th state of India on 1st December 1963. Nagaland is primarily a tribal state located on the eastern border of India and is inhabited by the tribal class of ‘Naga’. The capital of Nagaland is Kohima which claims to be the battleground of World War II during the Japanese invasion of British India.

Nagaland Become an Indian State

Nagaland is home to 17 major tribes and sub-tribes and consists of 16 administrative districts. Each and every tribe is different with respect to customs and traditions. Landlocked Nagaland is a state that is a part of northeastern India.

  • A state that is landlocked is one that is bordered on all sides by other states.
  • With Arunachal Pradesh to the north, Assam to the west, Manipur to the south, and the Sagaing Region of Myanmar to the east, Nagaland has shared borders.
  • The largest city there is Dimapur, and it is a mountainous area.
  • The natural, cultural, and environmental resources in Nagaland are abundant.
  • It also has vibrant folklore. Currently, Nagaland’s Chief Minister is Neiphiu Rio.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium