1st December 1963, Nagaland became the ______ State of India

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

1st December 1963, Nagaland became the 16th state of India. Statehood to Nagaland was granted by the State of Nagaland Act 1962. It is a land-locked state that shares its borders with Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, and Manipur. The capital of Nagaland is Kohima and Dimapur is its largest city. It is one of the smallest states in India. It is home to the Naga tribe of the Eastern Himalayas.

History of Nagaland as 16th State of India

On 01 December 1963, Nagaland became India’s 16th state. It is India’s 25th largest state by land area. Nagaland has a diverse range of natural and cultural resources. It provides vital resources such as natural minerals, petroleum, and hydropower.

Agriculture accounts for 70% of the state’s economy and is the primary occupation of the people. Nagaland’s capital, Kohima, has a population of around 100,000 people.

Facts about the Nagaland State of India

The Important Facts about Nagaland State are mentioned below:

  • Nagaland became a part of Assam after India’s independence in 1947.
  • It was known as Naga territory, and it was the home of the Naga tribes.
  • Nagaland’s people launched a strong nationalist movement in order to secede from the Indian Union.
  • The Indian government took direct control of the Tuensang frontier division and the Naga Hills region of Assam in 1957.
  • Furthermore, Nagaland was designated as a state of the Indian Union in 1960.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium