What is the Lee Commission?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Lee Commission was presided by the Lord Lee of Fareham and was established by the British Government in 1923. Its goal was to investigate the ethnic mix of India’s higher public service. All-India Services separated the commission into two divisions in 1924. The first group included higher education (IES), agriculture, veterinary, engineering, and health services.

Lee Commission 1924

The Indian Civil Service, Indian Police Service, Indian Service of Engineers, and Indian Forest Service were among the second group of services functioning in restricted territories. The Lee Commission was established to look into the government’s public services from a different angle of racial discrimination.

  • The Montagu-Chelmsford reforms proposed that Indians be appointed to one-third of all senior positions, and the Islington Commission advised that Indians be appointed to 25% of all positions.
  • In 1922, simultaneous trials were held in London and New Delhi.
  • Finally, the commission had an equal number of Indian and British members, requiring that 40% of Indians be directly recruited, 40% of future participation be British, and around 20% of Indians promoted from local service be British.
  • In 1947, the commission employed more than half of the approximately 1,000 members who were Indians in prominent positions.


What is the Lee Commission?

The British Government established the Lee Commission in 1923, chaired by Lord Lee of Fareham. The goal was to learn about the racial makeup of the Indian government’s superior public service. The commission is currently known as the Union Public Service Commission.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium