What is Article 54 of the Constitution?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

According to Article 54 of the Constitution, the President of India is elected by an Electoral College comprised of elected members of both houses of Parliament and Legislative Assemblies of all States, the Union Territory of Puducherry, and the National Capital of Delhi.

The current President of India is Droupadi Murmu, who won the presidential elections held on 18 July to be elected the new President after Mr. Kovind’s tenure expired on 24 July 2022.

Article 54 of the Indian Constitution

Article 54 of the Indian Constitution gives a list of people who can vote in the Presidential elections. Based on it, the President of India is elected by an Electoral College, which consists of the following members:

  • Elected members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, which are the lower and upper houses of the Parliament, respectively
  • Elected members of the Legislative Assemblies of all states and Union Territory of Puducherry and NCT of Delhi.

The 448 articles that make up our Indian Constitution are divided into 25 parts and 12 schedules. Articles 52 to 62 deal with the Head of State and first citizen of India, the Indian President. Article 54 of the Constitution mentions the process of the presidential elections, which we have already covered.

By using a single transferable vote, the election is conducted in accordance with the proportional representation system. Voting takes place under a system of secret ballots. The Supreme Court investigates and renders a decision on all questions and disagreements pertaining to the election, and its decision is final. Lastly, since the President is the head of state in India, Article 54 is of utmost importance for the Constitution.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium