How Many Types of Monsoon are there in India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are two types of monsoon in India, southwest monsoon and northeast monsoon. The rainy season, also known as the Southwest Monsoon Season, lasts from June to September. The Northeast Monsoon enters India’s northeast. Traditionally, a monsoon is a seasonal wind shift that is accompanied by changes in precipitation.

Types of Monsoon in India

Typically, it takes place from April to September. Warm, humid air from the southwest Indian Ocean blows toward nations like India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Myanmar as winter comes to an end. These areas experience a humid climate and deluges of rain during the summer monsoon. Southeast Asia and India rely on the summer monsoon.

Southwest Monsoon in India

  • This southwest monsoon is caused by an intense low-pressure system that develops over the Tibetan Plateau due to the region’s extreme summer temperatures.
  • They transport much moisture with them when they cross the warm equatorial currents.
  • The rain begins to fall when these winds hit or impact the mountain barriers.
  • After crossing the equator, these southeast trade winds move over the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal before being snagged by the airflow over India.
  • They go southwestward after passing the equator.
  • The southwest monsoon is so named as a result.
  • The monsoon season’s winds bring heavy rains to the region.

Northeast Monsoon in India

  • The wind blows from the sea to the land during this type of monsoon.
  • Indian Ocean moisture is carried by monsoon winds.
  • Only South India is affected by the Northeast Monsoon, which causes rain to fall in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Mahe, and southern interior Karnataka from October to December.
  • The winter monsoon is brought on by low-pressure systems, depressions, cyclones, and accompanying rains.
  • These three months constitute the majority of Tamil Nadu’s rainy season, accounting for 48% (447.4 mm) of the state’s annual rainfall.


How Many Types of Monsoon are there in India?

Southwest and northeast monsoons are the two different types of monsoons in India. The monsoon is the annual seasonal reversal of the wind direction. Its root is the season-designating Arabic word Mausim.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium