What are the Three Components of the Parliament?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Three Components of Parliament are the President, Rajya Sabha, and the Lok Sabha. Rajya Sabha represents the Council of States and the Upper House. At the same time, Lok Sabha represents the House of People and the Lower House. The President is the executive head and India’s first citizen.

Components of the Parliament

In both history and contemporary politics, a parliament is a body of lawmakers. A modern parliament typically performs three tasks: it represents the electorate, makes laws, and supervises the executive branch through hearings and investigations. It performs its numerous functions with the help of its three main components which have been described below in detail.

The President

The President of India is not a member of either House of Parliament and does not sit in the Parliament to attend its meetings. But he is an integral part of the Parliament. He is the state’s executive head and India’s first citizen. The President shall have the power to appoint or remove high authorities like The Prime Minister, Judges, etc.

Rajya Sabha

The first meeting of the Rajya Sabha, the parliament’s upper house, took place on April 3, 1952. The Rajya Sabha has 250 members in total. Each member of the Rajya Sabha has a term of six years, and the body is permanent and not subject to dissolution.

A third of the members do, however, retire every other year. It safeguards state authority. Therefore, it should be consulted before making any decisions that have an impact on the States. The Rajya Sabha has no power to overthrow the government; it can only criticize it.

Lok Sabha

The Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament, held its inaugural session on May 13, 1952. Its 530 members are chosen by popular vote from the states, 20 from the union territories, and two from the Anglo-Indian community who are nominated by the president.

The representatives of the states are chosen directly by their citizens. Money bills cannot be rejected, amended, or introduced by the Rajya Sabha. In the case of monetary bills, Lok Sabha has the final say. The Lok Sabha is accountable to the Council of Ministers.


What are the Three Components of the Parliament?

The components of Parliament are the President, Lok Sabha, and Rajya Sabha. Lok Sabha represents the Indian people, while Rajya Sabha represents the union territories and states. The Lok Sabha is answerable to the Council of Ministers and consists of 530 members.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium