What are the States of India and their Capitals?

By Balaji

Updated on: February 17th, 2023

The States of India and their Capitals are as follows: As of 2022, India has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The states were reorganized on linguistic lines under the States Reorganization Act, 1956. Here is a list of 28 states of India and their capitals. India is a sovereign, secular, democratic republic with a federation of states, a parliamentary system of government.

Table of content

  • 1. List of States of India and their Capitals (more)

List of States of India and their Capitals

Every Indian state has administrative, legal, and judicial capital. Every state has its own Chief Minister who controls the state. India is a mosaic of multicultural experiences with a rich heritage and myriad attractions. The country is the seventh largest by area, the second most populous, and the most populous democracy in the world.

India covers an area of ​​32, 87,263 sq km, which extends from the snow-capped Himalayan heights to the tropical rain forests of the south. There are 28 states in India as of 2022.

The list of Indian states and their capitals are as follows:

States Capitals
Andhra Pradesh Amaravati
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar
Assam Dispur
Bihar Patna
Chhattisgarh Raipur
Goa Panaji
Gujarat Gandhinagar
Haryana Chandigarh
Himachal Pradesh Shimla
Jharkhand Ranchi
Karnataka Bangalore
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal
Maharashtra Mumbai
Manipur Imphal
Meghalaya Shillong
Mizoram Aizawl
Nagaland Kohima
Odisha Bhubaneswar
Punjab Chandigarh
Rajasthan Jaipur
Sikkim Gangtok
Tamil Nadu Chennai
Telangana Hyderabad
Tripura Agartala
Uttarakhand Dehradun
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow
West Bengal Kolkata

What are the States of India and their Capitals?

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium