Who are Adivasis?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Adivasis are the native inhabitants who live in close association with forests. There are more than 500 Adivasis groups in India. They make up 8% of the Indian population. Major adivasis areas in India are Jamshedpur, Bokaro, Rourkela, Bhilai, etc. They follow many tribal religions which are completely different from Hinduism, Muslim, Christianity, etc. Read further to learn more about Adivasis in India.

Adivasis in India

The key points related to Adivasis in India are given below:

  • They have a very distinct society, as there is very little hierarchy among them.
  • They are different from the communities established around the principle of caste.
  • Adivasis involves the worshipping of ancestors, villages, nature spirits, etc.
  • They have their own language radically different and as old as Sanskrit.

Adivasis – Minority Rights Group

Ethnic minorities like the Khas of Nepal, the Chakmas of Bangladesh, and the Vedas of Sri Lanka are also known as Adivasis. The term Adivasi is not mentioned in the Constitution of India but refers to the Scheduled Tribes.

The politically vocal term Adivasi is used by the tribals living in the East, Central, West, and South regions of India. On the other hand, the term tribal or Scheduled Tribe is used by the tribals of North East India who do not use the term Adivasi for themselves.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium