What are the Eastern Ghats?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Eastern Ghats are a discontinuous mountain range along the eastern coast of India. They are often irregular and broken by rivers flowing into the Bay of Bengal. The Eastern Ghats pass through Andhra Pradesh, Orissa, and Tamil Nadu in the south, which passes through a few parts of Telangana and Karnataka. The highest peak is Mahendragiri (1,501 meters) in the Eastern Ghats. Shevaroy Hills and Javadi Hills are located southeast of the Eastern Ghats.

The Eastern Ghats

Along India’s eastern coast, there is a disjointed mountain range known as the Eastern Ghats. The Eastern Ghats travel through Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, and Telangana before ending in Tamil Nadu in the south.

  • They provide an extremely fertile area suitable for crops such as rice. At 965 m, Doli Gutta is Telangana’s highest peak in the Eastern Ghats.
  • Odakkan Betta is the highest point of the Eastern Ghats in Tamil Nadu. Deomali, with a height of 1672 m, is the highest point in Odisha.
  • The highest point is Jindhagada/Arma Konda peak in Andhra Pradesh, which is 1680 meters above sea level. They are divided by the Godavari, Krishna, Mahanadi, and Kaveri, four of peninsular India’s major rivers.
  • Between the Eastern and Western Ghats, to the west of the range, is the Deccan Plateau. The coastal plain is situated between the Eastern Ghats and the Bay of Bengal, much like the Coromandel Coast.


What are the Eastern Ghats?

The Eastern Ghats, a fragmented mountain range, run along India’s eastern coast. Before reaching Tamil Nadu in the southernmost state, the Eastern Ghats pass through Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, and Telangana.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium