What are the Divisions of the Northern Plains from North to South?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The divisions of the northern plains from north to south is the Bhabar, Terai, Bhangar, and Khadar. These plains are divided into different regions because of the variations in their relief features from North to South. The northern and central regions of the Indian subcontinent are covered by the Northern Plains, also known as the Indo-Gangetic Plain. They are produced by the three river systems, the Ganges, the Indus, and the Brahmaputra along with their tributaries.

Divisions of the Northern Plains from North to South

The northern plains can be classified into four regions based on relief features. After descending the mountain, the river pebbles get deposited, forming a thin strip 8-16 km wide. The name of this belt is Bhabar. With the Shivalik range, it is parallel. The area becomes swampy and marshy when the currents reappear. With a width of 10-20 km, the Terai region lies to the south of the Bhabar belt. The streams again meet here and form moist, swampy, and marshy areas.

Originally covered with forest and wildlife, the area was removed to make room for migrants from Pakistan (modern Bangladesh) and for agriculture. Khadar, a young type of alluvium, formed this floodplain.

  • The region has extremely fertile soil, which is refreshed every year.
  • It is believed that intensive agricultural activities are best suited for the region.
  • Based on variations, the northern plain can be divided into Bhabar, Terai, Bhangar, and Khadar regions.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium