What are the Different Forms of Power sharing in Modern Democracies?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The different forms of power sharing in modern democracies are the horizontal distribution of power, power-sharing between political parties, community government, and vertical distribution of power. There must be some way of distributing power in any constitution.

The sharing of power ensures that there is the best possible balance between the different aspects of society. There should be some kind of power distribution in every state. Every citizen now has more opportunities available to them.

Different Forms of Power Sharing in Modern Democracies

Power sharing in a democracy has advantages, which promote the stability of the political system. Modern democracies use various power-sharing systems, some of which are described here:

  • Horizontal distribution of power: The legislative, executive, and judicial branches of government have equal rights. India is an example. This division ensures that no organ can exercise and use infinite power.
  • Community government: Other socially connected groups, such as linguistic and religious, may also share power. Belgium is an example of this.
  • Power-sharing among political parties: This type of power-sharing competition ensures that power does not remain in one hand. Different political parties representing different ideologies and social groups share power for extended periods.
  • Vertical distribution of power: Different levels of government can share power. Governments at the province, state, and regional levels and a common federal government for the nation. Example: The central government of India consists of the central and state governments

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium