What is Vertical Power Sharing?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Vertical Power Sharing is the delegation of authority between the federal, state, and local administrations. Under this vertical sharing, the local government will report to either the Centre or the state government, and the state government will report to the union government.

Vertical Power Sharing

Power is shared among different levels of the government. Several levels of government share authority to form a complete unit. In India, they are referred to as the Centre, State, and local governments, such as the Municipality and the Gram Panchayat. Each unit’s primary central body is a sub-unit. The main body keeps an eye on the minor components.

No single arm of government has absolute power in a democracy. Democracy’s design relies heavily on the sensible distribution of power across the legislative, executive, and judicial departments.

Types of Power Sharing

A power-sharing arrangement divides duties and obligations among various social levels, organs, and groupings. Vertical power sharing and horizontal power sharing are the two most widely used types.

  • Horizontal power sharing is an equitable division of authority among several government agencies.
  • Vertical power sharing is the division of authority among various governmental tiers.

The biggest advantage of vertical power sharing is that it allows the government to function smoothly at all levels. For instance, the legislature is active at the central level, state level, and local level in India.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium