What are the Three Layers of Earth?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The Three Layers of the Earth are the Crust, Mantle, and Core. The Crust is the Earth’s outermost layer, and it is composed of hard rock that is mostly graphite or basalt and is brittle in nature. The Mantle is located beneath the Crust and has a thickness of up to 2900 km. The third layer is the Core, which happens to be the Earth’s center.

Three Layers of Earth

Earth is the densest planet in the solar system and consists of three main layers.

  • The Crust is the Earth’s outermost rocky layer, and it is also the thinnest layer, despite being solid. It has a thickness of about 40 kilometers and is divided into 15 tectonic plates. The thickness of this layer varies depending on whether it exists on land or in the sea.
  • The Mantle is the second layer above the Crust. Temperatures range between 500 and 900 degrees Celsius. The Mantle is also dense and moves in the shape of a semi-solid rock. The Asthenosphere is the upper part of the mantle and is the primary source of magma. Beyond the Asthenosphere is the lower part of the mantle.
  • The Core, which is the center of the Earth, is divided into two main parts, which are the ‘Outer Core’ and the ‘Inner core’. The Outer Core stays in a liquid state, whereas the Inner Core stays in a solid state. The Core is composed of heavy stuff such as nickel and iron and is referred to as the ‘nife layer.’

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium