The Sahyadri Mountains are called the

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Sahyadris is also known as the Western Ghats. They share a western border with the peninsular plateau and an eastern one with the Eastern Ghats. Along India’s western shore, the Western Ghats are parallel. The Western Ghats have been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Sahyadri Mountains

The Western Ghats also called the Sahyadri Mountain range, extends 1,600 km parallel to the western coast of the Indian peninsula, spanning the states of Gujarat, Maharashtra, Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, and Tamil Nadu. Its total size is 160,000 km2.

It is home to a significant amount of the nation’s flora and wildlife, including several species that are unique to this area. By blocking the rain-filled monsoon winds that arrive from the southwest in the late summer, they impact the Indian monsoon weather patterns.

  • The region is one of the ten hottest biodiversity hotspots in the world.
  • More than 7,402 species of flowering plants, 1,814 species of non-flowering plants, 139 species of mammals, 508 species of birds, 227 species of reptiles, 179 species of amphibians, 290 species of freshwater fish, and 6,000 species of insects live there.
  • The Western Ghats are home to numerous undiscovered species.
  • It runs along the Indian states of Gujarat, Goa, Maharashtra, Karnataka, etc.


Sahyadris is Also Known as?

The Western Ghats is another name for Sahyadris. The highest peak in Maharashtra is Kalsubai, which is found in the Sahyadri mountains. It is home to a sizeable portion of the animals and vegetation in the country, including some species that are particular to this region. The mountain range extends to 1600 km along the western coast of the Indian peninsula.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium