Name the Smallest Union Territory of India

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The smallest union territory of India is Lakshadweep. India currently has 8 union territories (UTs) and 28 states overall. Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, Andaman and Nicobar, Ladakh, Chandigarh, Daman and Diu and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Puducherry, and Lakshadweep are the eight union territories. Lakshadweep is the smallest of these union territories of India.

Smallest Union Territory of India

Lakshadweep consists of a total of 36 islands and has a surface area of about 32 sq km. The capital of the smallest union territory of India is Kavaratti and the entire population of Lakshadweep is estimated at 65,000. In Malayalam and Sanskrit, the name Lakshadweep translates to “a hundred thousand islands.”

  • Rice is a favorite food of the locals on these islands.
  • It is the second most popular food among Lakshadweep residents after seafood and coconut.
  • For seafood lovers, the island offers a wide variety of seafood dishes that are a culinary feast.
  • Here, you can get seafood like prawns, octopus, squid, and seaweed.

What is a Union Territory?

A union territory differs from a state in that it is governed by officials chosen by the Indian President and is not a stand-alone entity. Therefore, unlike states that are independently governed, UTs are either fully or partially governed by the Indian government.


Name the Smallest Union Territory of India

Lakshadweep is one of India’s smallest union territories. Lakshadweep is a group of 36 islands. The population of the entire UT is estimated to be around 65000 and its capital city is Kavaratti.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium