Name the Five States Through Which the Indian Standard Meridian Passes

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The standard meridian of India passes through five states in India which are Orissa, Chattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, and Madhya Pradesh. India’s standard meridian is 82°30’E. Due to Earth’s rotation and revolution around the Sun, various nations worldwide observe various time zones. The result is that the world is split into 24 time zones, each offset by one hour.

Even in India itself, there is a difference in the local time in many states and regions. Hence, to create uniformity in time throughout the country, a standard meridian was chosen from among the many others. The local time indicated or mentioned at this meridian is the national standard time.

Five States Through Which the Indian Standard Meridian Passes

So, now you know the five states through which the Indian Standard Meridian passes are – Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, and Andhra Pradesh. Meridian passing east of Allahabad was designated as a standard time zone for British India in 1905 and as IST for the Indian Dominion in 1947. Because there is a time difference of more than an hour between western India (around +05:00) and northeastern India (around +06:00).

  • The longitude of 82°5’E passing through Naini near Allahabad was chosen as the standard meridian for the entire country.
  • Thus, roughly standardizing with UTC+05:30 of central India.
  • With the aid of the Allahabad Observatory, the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research-National Physical Laboratory (CSIR-NPL) currently maintains the Indian Standard Time.

Bombay Time and Calcutta Time, which were first established in 1884 under the British Raj, were the two time zones that once existed in India. The Universal Coordinated Time (UCT), also known as Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), is 5 hours and 30 minutes ahead of it. India’s official timekeeper is the CSIR-National Physical Laboratory (NPL), New Delhi, which uses five cesium atomic clocks to keep track of the passing of time.

Standard Meridian of India

The standard meridian of India is accepted as the standard of time for the entire country and is at a longitude of 82°30’E. Hence, it is called Indian Standard Time or IST. It passes through the city of Mirzapur in the state of Uttar Pradesh and is considered a way to synchronize the clocks within a particular area to a local standard time.

Indian Standard Time is calculated within 4 angular minutes from the clock tower in Mirzapur, almost exactly on the reference longitude of IST at 82°30’E. It was chosen because it is situated halfway between the country’s eastern and western longitudinal extremities. It is well known for its brassware and carpet industries.


Name the Five States through Which the Indian Standard Meridian Passes

Indian standard time passes through Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, and Andhra Pradesh. The longitude of India’s Standard Meridian is 82°30’E. Since local time can vary in some locations, the standard meridian is regarded as the accepted time zone across the nation. Based on the longitude of 82.5°E, which is roughly located in Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh, Indian Standard Time is determined.

In 1879, Scottish-born Canadian Sir Sandford Fleming proposed a global time zone system. However, due to the sun’s rotation, each country experiences different times. Thus, every nation has a standard meridian that is set up to guarantee that there is a uniform time zone across the entire nation.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium