Which is the Standard Meridian of India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

India as a whole recognizes 82°30’E longitude as the standard meridian. The standard meridian of India passes through Uttar Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Andhra Pradesh, Orissa, and Madhya Pradesh. The meridian or longitude used to define a country’s time is called the standard meridian. All of the clocks in India are synced with the meridian that serves as its standard. By the various methods of measuring longitude, the standard meridian varies for every nation.

Standard Meridian of India

India’s Standard Meridian, which runs through Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh at a longitude of 82°30’E, is the reference point for the nation’s standard time. Instead of utilizing solar time or a locally selected meridian (longitude) to produce a local mean time standard, standard time is defined as the synchronization of clocks within a specific geographical region to a single standard time.

Different locations have different local times. The local times of Dibrugarh in Assam and Dwarka in Gujarat differ by around 1 hour and 45 minutes in India. As a result, the local time of a country’s central meridian must be adopted as the nation’s standard time.

States Passing Standard Meridian of India

The Indian Standard Meridian Passes Through Five States:

The standard meridian of India passes through the following states:

  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Chattisgarh
  • Orissa
  • Andhra Pradesh

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium