Why 82.30 is Selected as the Standard Meridian?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Indian standard time is calculated on the ground of 82°30′ East longitude, located in the Mirzapur district of Uttar Pradesh. It falls in the middle of the eastern and western longitudinal of India. The standard meridian of India passes in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, and Andhra Pradesh. There are various time zones in India to make people understand clearly about the time. If all the time zones are viewed as the standard meridian, it will become difficult for people to understand.

Longitude took in Standard Meridian of India

Each standard time zone is determined by the time meridian along a line of longitude that is precisely 15 degrees divisible. The standard time zones are established at the prime meridian. Its longitude line is arbitrary. Every nation has a common meridian set-up such that it serves as the country’s geographic centre and a time reference for all of its residents.

Indian Standard Time is 5.5 hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time ( GMT). The Prime Meridian travels through Greenwich in the United Kingdom. The standard meridian of India is considered to be at longitude 82° 30’E. The time at the standard meridian, often known as Indian Standard Time, is the time for the nation.

The standard meridian of India passes through five states, namely:

  • Uttar Pradesh
  • Chhattisgarh
  • Orissa
  • Madhya Pradesh
  • Andhra Pradesh


Which Longitude is taken as the Standard Meridian of India?

The longitude of 82.5°E, which is roughly located in Mirzapur, Uttar Pradesh, is used to compute Indian Standard Time. It was chosen because it is located in the midst of the nation’s longitudinal eastern and western extremes.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium