How Many Commands are there in Indian Army?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: September 11th, 2023

In this post, we will answer the frequently asked query, “How Many Commands are there in Indian Army?”. With over 13 lakh active personnel, the Indian army is one of the largest and most powerful armies in the world. As a result, it must be organized and commanded to work flawlessly together during operations. For this reason, the army is divided into commands strategically positioned to face off against the enemy. 

The President of India is the Supreme Commander of the Indian Army, and its professional head is the Chief of Army Staff (COAS), a four-star general. While facing several Defence written exams, or SSB interviews, IO may ask some questions based on different commands of the Indian Army, not only the number of orders but also their headquarters.


How Many Commands are there in Indian Army?

The mission of the Indian Army Commands is to defend the country from external aggression and internal threats and to maintain peace and security within its borders. The Indian Army is the most significant component of the Indian Armed Forces in terms of workforce.

You can remember all commands of the Indian Army with their respective headquarters. This might help you during your NDA Exam and other Defence exams. The Indian Army is organized into seven commands; these are:

S. No.

Indian Army Command



Western command



Eastern command



Northern command



Southern command



Central command



Army Training Command



South Western Command



Northern Command of the Indian Army

One of the Commands in Indian Army is known as the Northern Command. It was first established in 1908 as the British Indian Army’s Northern Army. After India gained its independence in 1947, it was abandoned and raised again in 1972.

  • Headquarters: Udhampur
  • Sub-ordinate Unit:
    • XIV Corps, headquartered at Leh, Jammu, and Kashmir
    • XV Corps, headquartered at Srinagar, Jammu, and Kashmir
    • XVI Corps, headquartered at Nagrota, Jammu, and Kashmir

Southern Command of Indian Army

The Indian Army’s Southern Command has existed since 1895. It has been used in battle during the integration of many Princely States into contemporary India, the 1961 Indian independence of Goa, and the Indo-Pakistani Wars in 1965 and 1971. The commander of the Southern Army at the moment is Lieutenant General Jai Singh Nain.

  • Headquarters: Pune
  • Sub-ordinate Unit:
    • 41st Artillery Division, headquartered at Pune, Maharashtra
    • XII Corps, headquartered at Jodhpur, Rajasthan
    • XXI Corps, headquartered at Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh

Western Command of Indian Army

The Indian Army’s Western Command is a command-level organization. It started in 1920. After being downgraded to a separate area and eventually merging with Northern Command to form the North-western Army, it was dissolved. It was formed again in 1947 after the Northern Command Headquarters was moved to Pakistan.

  • Headquarters: Chandimandir
  • Sub-ordinate Unit:
    • 40th Artillery Division headquartered at Ambala
    • II Corps, headquartered at Ambala, Haryana
    • IX Corps, headquartered at Yol, Himachal Pradesh
    • XI Corps, headquartered at Jalandhar, Punjab

Central Command of Indian Army

One of the seven operational commands in the Indian Army is the Central Command. Its headquarters are in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh. The current General Officer Commanding-in-Chief is Lieutenant General Yogendra Dimri.

  • Headquarters: Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh
  • Sub-ordinate Unit: I Corps — Currently assigned to South Western Command

Eastern Command of Indian Army

One of the Indian Army’s six operational commands is the Eastern Command. Its headquarters are located at Fort William in Kolkata, West Bengal. On November 1st, 1920, the Eastern Command was established. A general command-in-chief with three stars is in the Command (GOC-in-C).

  • Headquarters: Kolkata
  • Sub-ordinate Unit:
    • 23rd Infantry Division headquartered at Ranchi
    • III Corps, headquartered at Dimapur, Nagaland
    • IV Corps, headquartered at Tezpur, Assam
    • XXXIII Corps, headquartered at Siliguri, West Bengal

South Western Command of Indian Army

The Indian Army’s South Western Command was created on April 15, 2005, and went fully operational on August 15, 2005. It reacted to the new dangers and opportunities along the western border between India and Pakistan. Its main office is in Jaipur, Rajasthan. The current leader is Lieutenant General Amardeep Singh Bhinder.

  • Headquarters: Jaipur
  • Sub-ordinate Unit:
    • 42nd Artillery Division headquartered at Jaipur
    • I Corps, headquartered at Mathura, Uttar Pradesh
    • X Corps, headquartered at Bhatinda, Punjab

Training Command of Indian Army

One of the Indian Army’s seven commands is the Army Training Command or ARTRAC. Its current location is Shimla. It began to exist in 1991. The current leader is Lieutenant General SS Mahal.

  • Headquarters: Shimla
  • It was established in 1991

Question Asked from Indian Army Commands

The questions are based on basic information about the Indian army command frequently tested in exams. The candidates must practice the question and other pertinent questions. Here are some frequently asked questions from Indian Army Commands in Defence exams such as CDS Exam:

Qns 1: Total number of Indian Army Commands

A. 8
B. 5
C. 6
D. 7

Ans: D

Qns 2: Headquarter of Indian Army Eastern Command is located in

A. Dimapur
B. Kolkata
C. Guwahati
D. Gangtok
Ans: B

Qns 3: Headquarter of Indian Army Northern Command is located in
A. Udhamapur
B. Pathankot
C. Srinagar
D. Jammu
Ans: A

Qns 4: Headquarters of Indian Army Western Command is located in
A. Ambala
B. Patiala
C. Chandigarh
D. Jaipur
Ans: C

Qns 5: Headquarter of Indian Army Southern Command is located in
A. Chennai
B. Mysore
C. Mumbai
D. Pune
Ans: D

Qns 6: Headquarter of Indian Army Training Command is located in
A. Hyderabad
B. Shimla
C. Mathura
D. Agra
Ans: B

Also, check:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium