Name the Five States Through Which the Indian Standard Meridian Passes

By Esha Dhawan|Updated : June 23rd, 2022

The standard meridian of India passes through five states in India that include the following:

  1. Orissa
  2. Chattisgarh
  3. Uttar Pradesh
  4. Andhra Pradesh
  5. Madhya Pradesh

What is the Standard Meridian of India?

The standard meridian of India is accepted as the standard of time for the entire country and is at a longitude of 82°30'E. Hence, it is called the Indian Standard Time or IST. It passes through the city of Mirzapur in the state of Uttar Pradesh and is considered a way to synchronize the clocks within a particular area to a local standard time. 

Every country has a standard meridian that is established to ensure that there is a standard time throughout the whole country. In India, the local time differs in some places. For instance, there is a slight difference of around 1 hour 45 minutes in the local times of Dibrugarh in Assam and Dwarka in Gujarat. Therefore, it is crucial to have a standard time for the whole country. 


The Indian Standard Meridian Passes Through Which States?

The standard meridian of India passes through the states of Orissa, Chhattisgarh, Uttar Pradesh (UP), Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh (MP). The standard meridian is seen as the standard time throughout the country as the local time can differ in a few places. Hence, it is necessary to follow one standard time or the Indian standard time so there is no confusion

☛ Related Questions: 

Which is the Smallest State in India?

Describe the Powers and Functions of the Prime Minister of India

Name the States of India Through Which the Tropic of Cancer Passes


write a comment


  • The standard meridian of India is a way to ensure that only one time is followed in the entire country ie the Indian Standard Time. It has a longitude of 82°30'E and passes through five different states in India.

  • We need the standard meridian of India because there are a few places where the local time differs from the other parts of the country. For example, in Dwarka, Gujarat and Dibrugarh in Assam, there is a significant time difference of 1 hour 45 minutes. Hence, we need the IST to ensure there is consistency in time throughout the nation.

SSC & Railway

CGLSSC GDDFCCILCHSLCPONTPCMTSStenoGroup DDelhi PoliceOthersCoursesMock Test

Follow us for latest updates