What is Two Kingdom Classification? Give its Drawbacks?

By Mandeep Kumar|Updated : September 8th, 2022

The two kingdom classifications are referred to as the system of classification with Plantae and Animalia kingdoms. The drawbacks of two kingdom classification are:

  • difficulty in differentiating between eukaryotes and prokaryotes.
  • difficulty in distinguishing between unicellular and multicellular organisms.
  • difficulty in differentiating between green algae (photosynthetic) and fungi (non-photosynthetic).

Classification of Kingdoms

R.H. Whittaker suggested five types of kingdoms namely Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia. The main characteristics considered by him for the classification are cell structure, body organization, mode of nutrition, reproduction, and phylogenetic relationship.

  • Monera: The main members of this category are bacteria.
  • Protista: In this category, all single-celled eukaryotes are placed.
  • Fungi: This constitutes heterotrophic organisms.
  • Plantae: All eukaryotic chlorophyll-containing organisms are incorporated into the Plantae kingdom.
  • Animalia: This category comprises all heterotrophic eukaryotic organisms that do not have cell walls and are multicellular.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The system of classification of kingdoms into Plantae and Animalia is called the two kingdom classification.

  • The drawbacks of the two kingdom classification are problems in distinguishing between unicellular and multicellular organisms, between eukaryotes and prokaryotes, and between photosynthetic and fungi non-photosynthetic.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates