When was the National Seed Corporation Established?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

National Seeds Corporation was established in 1963, under the Ministry of Agriculture’s supervision. Currently, it produces certified seeds on its farms and through registered seed growers for nearly 600 varieties of 60 crops, including cereals, pulses, oilseeds, fiber, fodder, green manure, and vegetables.

National Seed Corporation Establishment

The Government of India owns 100% of National Seeds Corporation Ltd. (NSC), a Schedule ‘B’ Miniratna Category-I corporation governed by the Department of Agriculture Cooperation & Farmers Welfare, Ministry of Agriculture, and Farmers Welfare.

  • In March 1963, NSC was established in order to carry out the production of foundation and certified seeds.
  • The seed industry places a high priority on the production of hybrid crops, oil seeds, and pulses.
  • The NSC has developed a thorough Quality Control procedure to make sure that farmers receive high-quality seeds.
  • NSC established four Quality Control Laboratories, one in each of the following locations: New Delhi, Secunderabad, Bhopal, and Suratgarh, to carry out seed testing and assess the quality of seeds.
  • NSC grows tissue culture plants like bananas in addition to creating and distributing high-quality seeds.
  • In addition, it provides its farms with fruit crop seeds and saplings from superior progeny orchards.


When was the National Seed Corporation Established?

Under the direction of the Ministry of Agriculture, the National Seeds Corporation was founded in 1963. Agriculture seeds manufacturing, drying, storing, distributing, and transporting are some of its primary responsibilities.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium