Why is Rajya Sabha Called a Permanent House?

By Balaji

Updated on: March 6th, 2023

The Rajya Sabha is called a Permanent House as it is the upper house of the Indian Parliament. Since it is a permanent assembly, it cannot be dissolved. The Lok Sabha is the only body that can be dissolved. A third of the members leave every two years to make room for new ones. The term of office for each Rajya Sabha member is six years.

Table of content

  • 1. Reason for calling Rajya Sabha Permanent House (more)

Reason for calling Rajya Sabha Permanent House

The Rajya Sabha is a permanent body that cannot be dissolved. Rajya Sabha, or the upper house of the Parliament, is also called the Council of States.

  • It is a permanent body and cannot be dissolved in any case. Every two years, 1/3rd of the Rajya Sabha members resign for the new candidates to join.
  • The senior minister and member of the Rajya Sabha are appointed as the Leader of the House by the Prime Minister.
  • The Vice-President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of the Upper House or Rajya Sabha.
  • The total strength of the Upper House is 250.
  • It can have a maximum of 245 members as of 2021, 233 of whom are elected by state and territorial legislatures using single transferable votes in open elections.
  • The President may also appoint 12 members to the Rajya Sabha for their contributions to the arts, literature, sciences, and social services.
  • Article 80 of the Indian Constitution states that the Rajya Sabha has a maximum seating capacity of 245 members (233 elected, 12 appointed).

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium