Write the names of members of the drafting committee of the Indian constitution

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The members of the Drafting Committee of the Indian Constitution were Alladi Krishnaswamy Iyer, N Gopalaswamy, B.R. Ambedkar, K.M. Munshi, Mohammad Sadulla, B.L. Mitter, and D.P. Khaitan. There were 7 members of the Drafting Committee. It was headed by Dr. B.R. Ambedkar. It was established on 29 August 1947. The Drafting Committee collectively called Dr. B.R. Ambedkar as its president, who would lead him in its first meeting on 30 August 1947.

Members of Drafting Committee of the Indian Constitution

The longest constitution in the world is the one that governs India. In the beginning, it contained eight schedules, twenty-two volumes, and three hundred and ninety-nine pieces. Its approximately 145,000 words make it the second-largest working constitution in the world.

  • A preamble, twenty-five parts with twelve schedules, five appendices, four forty-eight articles, and one hundred and one amendments are presently included.
  • During the stages of the committee and the discussion of the Constituent Assembly, the Drafting Committee and its members had a significant impact on the development of the Indian Constitution.
  • The draft constitution made by the Drafting Committee was the subject of vast majority discussion in the Constituent Assembly.
  • Of the 166 sessions of the Constituent Assembly, 114 sessions were devoted to the discussion of the draft constitution(s).

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium