Who removes the Election Commissioner?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Election Commissioner can be removed by the President of India for disorderly conduct or incapacity from both the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha by a two-thirds majority against him. Election commissioners are Election Commission of India members who have usually retired IRS or IAS officers.

Election Commissioner can be Removed by?

The Election Commission of India is a constitutional body that oversees the country’s elections.

  • Elections to the offices of the President and Vice-President of India, Parliament, State Legislative Assemblies, and Legislative Councils are all part of it.
  • Article 324 of the Indian Constitution grants the authority.
  • The commission issues the Code of Conduct for Elections, which outlines how political parties and candidates should behave during an election period.

Who is Election Commissioner?

Currently, the Election Commission is made up of a Chief Election Commissioner and two other election commissioners. Election Commissioners are appointed by the President of India for a six-year term or until the age of 65.

  • The salary of the Chief Election Commissioner is the same as that of a Supreme Court Judge.
  • V. S. Ramadevi was India’s first female Chief Election Commissioner.
  • Shri Rajiv Kumar is India’s current Chief Election Commissioner.


Who removes the Election Commissioner?

The President of India has the authority to remove the Chief Election Commissioner. The President of India has the authority to remove the two additional election commissioners on the recommendation of the Chief Election Commissioner.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium