Who Proposed the Five Kingdom Classification? – (A) Charles Darwin (B) Ernst Haeckel (C) Robert Whittaker (D) Carolus Linnaeus

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Five Kingdom System of classification in organisms was proposed by Robert Whittaker in 1969. The five kingdoms proposed by Robert Whittaker are classified as Kingdom Monera, Kingdom Protista, Kingdom Fungi, Kingdom Plantae, and Kingdom Animalia. Robert Whittaker introduced all the five kingdoms in organisms based on their complexity of cell structures, body structures, mode of obtaining nutrition, and ecological lifestyle.

Proposal of the Five Kingdom System Classification

Without a proper classification system, it is utterly impossible to identify any living thing due to the sheer number and variety of living things that exist on Earth. Therefore, the classification system was introduced in all fields to make things more orderly and understandable. As a result, organized kingdoms of organisms were categorized.

Robert Whittaker introduced the five kingdom classifications of organisms based on the cell structures, body structures, mode of obtaining nutrition, thallus organization, reproduction, and phylogenetic relationships.

Five Kingdom System Classification

The various kingdoms were differentiated on the following basis:

  • Kingdom Monera includes prokaryotes.
  • Kingdom Protista includes unicellular eukaryotes.
  • Kingdom Fungi includes fungi.
  • Kingdom Plantae includes multicellular eukaryotic plants.
  • Kingdom Animalia includes multicellular animals.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium