What is Two Kingdom Classification? Give its Drawbacks

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Two Kingdom Classifications are referred to as the system of classification with Plantae and Animalia kingdoms. The drawbacks of the two kingdom classifications are difficulties distinguishing between eukaryotes and prokaryotes, distinguishing between unicellular and multicellular organisms, and distinguishing between green algae (photosynthetic) and fungi (non-photosynthetic).

Two Kingdom Classification

Carolus Linnaeus, a Swedish Botanist, and Zoologist among other things, suggested five types of kingdoms, namely Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia. His main characteristics for the classification are cell structure, body organization, mode of nutrition, reproduction, and phylogenetic relationship.

  • Monera: The main members of this category are bacteria.
  • Protista: In this category, all single-celled eukaryotes are placed.
  • Fungi: These constitute heterotrophic organisms.
  • Plantae: All eukaryotic chlorophyll-containing organisms are incorporated into the Plantae kingdom.
  • Animalia: This category comprises all heterotrophic eukaryotic organisms that do not have cell walls and are multicellular.

Drawback of Two Kingdom Classification

Some recent classifications based on current cladistics have expressly abandoned the word kingdom, citing the fact that some conventional kingdoms are not monophyletic, that is, they do not consist of all the offspring of a common ancestor. Flora (for plants), fauna (for animals), and, in the twenty-first century, fungi (for fungi) are all names used to describe the life that exists in a specific location or time.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium