Who is the Head of Zila Parishad?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The head of the Zilla Parishad known as the Adhyaksha or President is directly elected from amongst the elected members. Zila Parishad is another name for Zila Panchayat. At the district level, it is the third level of the Panchayat Raj structure. In Panchayati Raj Institutions, the Gram Panchayat is the fundamental unit at the village level and the Zila Parishad is the highest order of the Panchayat at the district level.

Head of Zila Parishad

A Zila Parishad is a district-level local government, and its members are chosen by voters every five years. The head of the Zilla Parishad is known as the Adhyaksha or President.

  • Every three months, they get together to discuss how to make living conditions better, among other things.
  • The people elect the remaining members in a direct and fair election, and the Chairman is chosen from among the elected members.

Composition of Zila Parishad

All of the District’s Panchayat Samitis are led by former official Zila Parishad members. The parish is led by the chairman and vice-chairman.

  • The ex-officio secretary of the Zila Parishad is the deputy director general from the district-level general administration department.
  • The Zila Parishad’s administrative structure is headed by the Director General, who may be an IAS officer or a senior civil servant.
  • In addition to the Deputy General Managers and other district and block-level officials, he also manages the Parish Department.


Who is the Head of Zila Parishad?

A president and a vice president is the Head of Zila Parishad. The ex-officio members of Zila Parishad are the chairmen of each Panchayat Samiti in the district. Zila Parishad also includes representatives from Block Pramukh and Block Panchayat.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium