Which States have Inner Line Permit?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram, Nagaland, Manipur, Lakshadweep, and Himachal Pradesh have Inner Line Permits. An Inner Line Permit (ILP) is a legal document issued by the concerned state government that allows an Indian citizen to enter a protected area for a limited time. Indian nationals from other states must obtain a permit before entering the protected state.

Inner Line Permit States in India

The government is attempting to regulate travel to certain areas that are close to India’s international border. An ILP is typically much easier to obtain than the equivalent Protected Area Permit (PAP), which is the document required for non-citizens to enter the same region.

According to the Indian Constitution, all citizens of India are free to live and work in any state of the country, though entry to some states with protected status requires permission from the relevant state government, i.e., special permissions are required to visit these places.

Such a permit is known as an Inner Line Permit since it allows admission to places between the international boundary and the country’s so-called “Inner Line,” allowing an Indian or foreign citizen to enter a protected area. Here is the list of states that have Inner Line Permits:

  • Arunachal Pradesh: Released by the political secretary of the Arunachal Pradesh government, it is needed to cross the interstate boundary into Arunachal Pradesh from Assam or Nagaland through any of the checkpoints.
  • Mizoram: Released by the Mizoram government, it is necessary to have it to enter Mizoram at any of the checkpoints at the interstate borders.
  • Nagaland: Anyone, whether an Indian citizen or a foreigner, who is not a native of Nagaland must obtain an Inner Line Permit under a regulation issued by the Nagaland government (ILP).
  • Manipur: On December 11, 2019, President Ram Nath Kovind signed an order extending the Inner Line Permit (ILP) regime to Manipur. The order was issued by the Government of Manipur.
  • Lakshadweep: For entry into this island territory, a Lakshadweep government-issued inner line permit is required. Obtaining an ILP for Lakshadweep is exceedingly challenging due to the extensive rules and requirements.
  • Himachal Pradesh: An inner line permit is necessary for any foreign visitor to the Spiti Valley. Before 1992, Indian people were no longer required to get an Inner Line permit to go to Spiti.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium