What are All the Types of Government?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

Types of Government are Monarchy, Democracy, Republic, and Authoritarian. The type of government can be further subdivided within these classifications into a variety of other forms. The world’s governments can be classified based on criteria such as power division, socioeconomic status, regional control, and so on. Different parts of the world have different types of governments in charge of their countries.

All Types of Government

There are many different types of governments around the world, with democracy being the fairest and most just. This is because democracy gives the citizens of the country the power to choose their own leaders through fair elections. On the other hand, some governments, such as the Oligarchy are dominated by a small group of privileged individuals. In a dictatorship, a single leader wields absolute power over the country.

Candidates can learn about the different types of government by using this example: an absolute or constitutional monarchy or a democratic, presidential, or parliamentary republic. Fascism, anarchy, oligarchy, and communism are all examples of authoritarian governments.

Democracy is a type of government where people can elect their representatives. India is a democratic country. China is a republic country where all the constitutional posts are there but people are under governmental limitations.

List of Major Types of Governments

To sum it up, here is a list of the major types of governments around the world:

  • Democracy – Parliamentary
  • Monarchy – Absolute and Constitutional monarchies
  • Republic – Democratic, Semi Presidential, Presidential, and Parliamentary Republic
  • Totalitarianism – Dictatorship, Fascism, Oligarchy, Communism, and Anarchy

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium