Which Part of the Constitution is called the Magna Carta?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

Part III of the Indian Constitution is called the Magna Carta of India and it lists the fundamental rights of the citizens of India. The term ‘Magna Carta’ or ‘Charter of Rights’ originated when a document listing the fundamental rights of citizens was issued by King John of England in 1215. It was the first written document to include a fundamental list of citizen rights.

Magna Carta of the Indian Constitution

The Magna Carta of India lists the six fundamental rights of all the citizens of India. The Part 3 Fundamental Rights (Articles 12 to 35) are as follows:

Article 12 contains the definition whereas Article 13 describes laws inconsistent with or in derogation of fundamental rights. Article 14 has the provision of equality before the law. The Prohibition of discrimination on grounds of religion, race, caste, sex, or place of birth is incorporated in Article 15. Article 16 provides for the equality of opportunity in matters of public employment.

The provision for the abolition of untouchability is incorporated in Article 17. On the other hand, Article 18 deals with the provision for the abolition of titles. Article 19 contains the rules for the protection of certain rights regarding freedom of speech, etc. Protection in respect of conviction for offenses has been described in Article 20.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium