Where is the Headquarters of SAARC Located?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Headquarters of SAARC is located in Kathmandu, Nepal. SAARC is the short form of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation. It is an economic and political organization of eight countries in South Asia. SAARC was established in 1985 to promote economic growth, social progress, and cultural development within the South Asia region.

The Headquarters of SAARC is at

SAARC headquarters is in Kathmandu, Nepal. It is based on respect for the five principles of territorial integrity, sovereign equality, political independence, non-interference in the internal affairs of the Member States, and mutual benefit.

The area of cooperation is Education and culture; economics, trade, and finance; Environment; Science and Technology; Poverty alleviation; Social development; Agriculture and rural development; etc.

Objectives of SAARC

The following are the objectives of the SAARC:

  • To strengthen and promote collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia.
  • To promote mutual assistance and active collaboration in the social, economic, cultural, technical, and scientific fields.
  • To strengthen cooperation with other developing countries.
  • Cooperation with international and regional organizations with similar aims and purposes.
  • To improve economic growth, social progress, and cultural development in the region.


Where is the Headquarters of SAARC Located?

Kathmandu, Nepal is the place where the headquarters of the SAARC is located. SAARC has eight member states Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. In addition, there are nine observer states that include the US, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Australia, Mauritius, European Union, China, and Myanmar.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium