Which is the Second Largest Continent in the World?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

Africa is the Second Largest Continent in the World. Around 50% of the African population is below 19 years or younger, which makes it the youngest continent in the world. Several bodies of water, including the Atlantic and Indian oceans, border this landmass. Only the Sinai Peninsula and the Suez Canal connect this continent to Asia. It consists of a total of 54 countries.

Second Largest Continent in the World

Out of all the continents, the African continent is the second largest continent. It has a surface area of 30.37 million km which is the largest after Asia. We have provided important information about the continents.

As discussed above, Africa is the world’s second-largest continent. It houses the equator or the 0o latitude that passes through the middle of it. A large part of the world’s second-largest continent lies in the northern hemisphere.

Africa is the only continent where the Equator, the Tropic of Cancer, and the Tropic of Capricorn all intersect. The continent has a tropical climate and is home to the world’s largest hot desert, the Sahara Desert. It is surrounded on all sides by oceans and seas. The Nile, the world’s longest river, flows through Africa’s second-largest continent.

A large landmass on the earth is referred to as a continent. Up to seven geographical regions are typically considered to be continents, with the term “continent” generally denoting a convention rather than any specific criteria. The biggest continent in the world is Asia, which has the maximum population on the planet, housing the two most populated countries – China and India. In contrast, although Africa houses 10% of the world’s population.

Facts About Second Largest Continent

Here are a few interesting facts about the formation of continents on the earth.

  • The shifting of tectonic plates over millions of years has resulted in the formation of the seven earth continents. Tectonic plates, which are substantial, asymmetrical rock slabs that make up the outside of the Earth, are constantly shifting.
  • The land area of the planet is divided into seven continents. The following query is how we decide which nations belong to which continent.
  • When assigning nations to a certain continent, there are two things to remember -the closeness to the area and tectonic plates.
  • Most of the time, geographers classify an area’s islands as belonging to a continent. Because of this, Madagascar is a part of Africa, but the UK is a part of Europe.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium