What are the Types of Natural Vegetation?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Types of Natural Vegetation in India can be classified into tropical evergreen forests, tropical deciduous forests, tropical thorny forests and bushes, alpine forests, montane forests and mangrove forests. A plant community that evolved organically through time is referred to as natural vegetation. Moreover, a plant community that grows without human intervention is referred to as virgin vegetation. Thus, orchards, planted fruits, and other types of vegetation are not considered to be natural vegetation.

Types of Natural Vegetation

Five main categories can be used to categorize vegetation regions – Desert, Tundra, Forest, Grassland, and Ice sheet. In our nation, the primary vegetation kinds listed below can be found. These include:

  • Evergreen Tropical Forests
  • Tropical Deciduous forests
  • Tropical thorny forests and bushes
  • Alpine Forests
  • Forests of Mangroves
  • Montane forests

Evergreen tropical rainforests

  • These forests can be found in areas that get above 200 cm of precipitation annually.
  • They can be found in significant numbers in the Northeastern states of Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Assam, the Western Ghats, the Terai areas of the Himalayas, and the Andaman Islands.
  • The Khasi and Jaintia hills also have them.

Monsoon-type or Deciduous forests

West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Bihar, Orissa, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Jharkhand, and the surrounding regions, as well as the lower slopes of the Himalayas, are home to deciduous woods.

Annual precipitation in this area ranges between 100 and 200 cm. Teak is the dominant species in the area.

Read: What is Natural Vegetation?

Dry Deciduous forests

  • These forests thrive where there is 50 to 100 cm of annual precipitation.
  • These are primarily found in the South-east of Rajasthan, Punjab, Haryana, sections of Uttar Pradesh, and the Central Deccan plateau.

Mountain Forests/Montane Forests

  • Montane forests can be found in the mountains.
  • Mountain forest types vary greatly along the mountainside.
  • Evergreen trees such as sal, teak, and bamboo thrive in the Himalayan foothills up to 1500 meters.


What are the Types of Natural Vegetation?

The Types of Natural Vegetation include tropical deciduous forests, evergreen tropical forests, alpine forests, tropical thorny bushes, and mangrove forests. Vegetation regions can be classified into five types – desert, tundra, grassland, forest, and ice sheet.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium