What is the Cemetery of Tut Called?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The cemetery of King Tut is called the Valley of the Kings. It is the resting place of King Tutankhamun of Egypt and consists of four chambers, an entrance, a corridor, and a staircase. This innermost coffin is shaped like a mummy and is made of solid gold, weighing 110.4 kg. It was discovered inside the middle coffin, wrapped in linen. Both are now on display at Cairo’s Egyptian Museum.

Cemetery of King Tut

Tutankhamun is considered the most famous Egyptian Pharoah whose death still remains a mystery. He died at the age of 18 or 19 and his mummy or dead body is buried in the Valley of the Kings. It is believed that Tut suffered from different maladies like malaria that might have led to his early demise.

  • Tutankhamun, also known as King Tut, was an Egyptian pharaoh who ruled at the end of the Eighteenth Dynasty during Egypt’s New Kingdom.
  • The well-known discovery of King Tutankhamun’s tomb by British archaeologist Howard Carter is one of the most well-known.
  • Prior to finding Tut’s tomb in 1922, Carter spent eleven years excavating in the Valley of the Kings.


What is the Cemetery of Tut Called?

Valley of the Kings is the name of King Tut’s cemetery. It has four chambers, an entrance, a hallway, and a staircase, and it serves as King Tutankhamun of Egypt’s final resting place. King Tut’s body was interred in a nest of three coffins set inside a stone sarcophagus that was covered by four overlapping box-shaped shrines.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium