What is the 7th Part of the Indian Constitution?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 14th, 2023

The 7th Part of the Indian Constitution is called The States in Part B of the First Schedule and contains only one article i.e. Article 238. It is one of the 22 basic parts added by our Constitution Committee. Since then, this part is the only one that has been repealed. It was repealed by the 7th Amendment Act in 1956. The article contained in the 7th part of the Indian Constitution was responsible for dealing with the states.

Part 7 of the Indian Constitution

When India became newly independent, there were many princely states and independent territories, making it difficult to define territorial boundaries. When the constitution was drafted, the states were classified into three types- A, B, and C.

Part 7 deals with the states mentioned under Para B of the classification of states. Part B Indian territory formerly consisted of princely states. These states were Jammu and Kashmir, Hyderabad, Travancore-Cochin, Central India, Saurashtra, Mysore, Rajasthan, East Punjab Union, and Patiala.

Due to the Seventh Constitutional Amendment, the States Reorganization Act of 1956 divided the states into linguistic lines. This reorganization led to the removal of Part V as the states under Part B no longer existed. The classification of states was also done away with.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium