What are the Major Divisions of the Himalayas?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Major Divisions of the Himalayas are Greater Himalaya or Himadri, the Lesser Himalaya, also known as the Himachal, and the Shivalik or Outer Himalaya. The Greater Himalayas form the northernmost range and include the major Himalayan peaks. The Outer Himalayas are made up of unorganized material, and the Lower Himalayan ranges are made up of highly compressed and altered rocks.

Division of Himalayas

The details related to the Himalayas major divisions have been elaborated below:

Great Himalayas: It is also known as ‘Himadri’ and is the northernmost range. It has the highest peaks and the most continuous range. It houses the highest peak in the world, Mount Everest, Kangchenjunga, Lhotse, and Nanga Parbat. The total extent of the Great Himalayas from west to east is 2400 kilometers, and their average elevation is 6000 meters (20000 feet).

Lesser or Middle Himalayas: The Himalayas in the north are known as the Middle Himalayas and are also called the Lower Himalayas, Inner Himalayas, or Himachal. It is the major east–west mountain range in the northernmost regions of the Indian subcontinent, with elevations of 3,700 to 4,500 meters (12,000 ft. to 14,500 ft). The Himachal range is parallel to the lower Shivalik range (outer Himalayas) in the south. The largest range of the Lesser or Middle Himalayas is the Pir Panjal.

Outer Himalayas: These are known as the Shivalik ranges, and these ranges are the smallest in the Himalayan family. The mountain range of the Outer Himalayas extends for about 2,400 km (1,500 mi). The extension is from the Indus River eastwards along the Brahmaputra River in the northern parts of the Indian subcontinent.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium