Name the Three Parallel Ranges of the Himalayas

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The three parallel ranges of the Himalayas include the Great Himalayas or Himadri in the north, the Himachal or Central Himalayas in the south Great Himalayas, and the Shivaliks in the southern part of the Himalayas. The Great Himalaya, or Himadri, has the highest peaks in the world with an elevation of 6000 m, and the lowest peak ranges come with a mountain range between 900 and 1100 m in the Shivaliks, or Outer Himalayas.

Three Parallel Ranges of the Himalayas

Here are the three parallel ranges of the mighty Himalayas that are an indispensable part of Indian geography:

  • The Great Himalayas or Inner Himalayas: It is also known as Himadri. It is a continuous or non-stop range of the Himalayas that includes the highest peak with a normal height of 6,000 meters. It is constantly covered with snow, and as a result, continuous currents and ice sheets are formed.
  • Lesser Himalayas or Himachal: The Little Himalayas are located to the south of the Himadri. They outline the toughest mountains. The normal height of the mountains is between 3700 to 4500 m. The famous valleys of Kangra, Kullu, and Kashmir are part of the Lesser Himalayas.
  • Outer Himalayas or Shiwaliks: The Shiwaliks are responsible for the farthest reaches of the Himalayas. Its range is between 900 to 1100 meters at altitude. These ranges are made of unorganized stone material. It includes the Doons (longitudinal valleys that lie between the Lesser Himalayas and the Shivaliks). Examples of Doons are Patlin Doon, Kotli Doon, Dehradun, etc.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium