The Equator Passes through Which States of India?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Equator does not pass through India as India lies in the Northern Hemisphere. The Equator is the line that connects the North and South Poles. It is an imaginary line that runs across the globe and divides it into two equal parts. The circles parallel to the equator up to the poles are known as parallels of latitude.

States through which the Equator Passes

The equator passes through three continents, thirteen countries, and three water bodies. The names of the three continents through which the equator passes are Asia, Africa, and South America.

The Equator runs through thirteen countries: Asia’s Maldives, Indonesia, and Kiribati; Africa’s Gabon, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda, Kenya, Sao Tome and Principe, and Somalia; and South America’s Ecuador, Colombia, and Brazil. The Indian Ocean, Atlantic Ocean, and Pacific Ocean are the three bodies of water through which the equator travels. The Pacific Ocean is the world’s largest ocean.

Equator Line

The Equator is an imaginary line that is located in the middle of the Earth. It covers around 40,075 km distance between the south and north pole. It covers many rainforests, several areas where endangered animals are living, etc.

Furthermore, the Tropic of Cancer passes through India and crosses eight different states, namely – Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Tripura, Gujarat, Mizoram, Chhattisgarh, Madya Pradesh, and West Bengal.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium