India Shares its Land Boundary with How Many Countries?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

India shares its land boundary with 7 countries. These include China, Nepal, and Bhutan in the north. In the east, India shares a land border with Myanmar and Bangladesh, while in the northwest, it is joined by Afghanistan and Pakistan. Sri Lanka and the Maldives are also neighboring countries of India, but instead of land borders, they share water borders with India.

Countries Sharing Indian Land Boundary

The seven neighboring countries of India, along with the bordering states, are listed below. The topic of neighboring countries is important and frequently asked in Civil Services examinations.

  • Pakistan shares land borders with Rajasthan, Gujarat, Punjab and Jammu, and Kashmir.
  • Nepal shares borders with Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal, and Sikkim.
  • Myanmar shares borders with Nagaland, Mizoram, Manipur, and Arunachal Pradesh.
  • China is bordered by Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, and Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Bhutan has land borders with West Bengal, Sikkim, Assam, and Arunachal Pradesh.
  • Afghanistan shares a border with Jammu and Kashmir (PoK part of Jammu and Kashmir)
  • Bangladesh shares its borders with Assam, Tripura, Meghalaya, Mizoram, and West Bengal.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium