How Many Seasons Are There in a Year? Name Them

By Balaji

Updated on: February 17th, 2023

In India, there are four seasons namely cold weather, hot weather, the southwest monsoon season, and the retreating monsoon season. Seasons are recognised by meteorologists in India. Many things in India are affected by the seasons. There are several things, ranging from festivals to agriculture.

Table of content

  • 1. Number of Seasons in a Year (more)

Number of Seasons in a Year

The seasons in India change due to the changes in the elements of weather such as temperature, pressure, wind direction, humidity, velocity, precipitation, etc. As discussed, there are four seasons in India.

  • The cold weather season: It arrives in northern India by mid-November. December and January are the coldest months in the northern plains.
  • The Hot Weather Season: In March, the sun moves closer to the Tropic of Cancer. In northern India, the summer months are April, May, and June.
  • The Southwest Monsoon Season: This season is caused by a rapid increase in temperature over the northwest plains in May. By early June, they had grown strong enough to attract trade winds from the Indian Ocean.
  • The Retreating Monsoon Season: The months of retreating monsoon are October and November. It occurs due to the passage of cyclonic depressions which originate over the Andaman Sea and cross the eastern coast of the southern Peninsula in India.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium