How Many Members are there in the GST Council?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

There are 33 members in the GST council. Out of the 33 members, 2 come from the federal government, and 31 come from the 28 states and 3 union territories that have passed legislation. The Goods and Services Tax Council is a constitutional body established under Article 279A(1). Its president is the Union Finance Minister, and its members may also be state finance ministers or other ministers chosen by them.

Members of GST Council

After the Constitutional (122nd Amendment) Bill was approved by both houses of Parliament in 2016, the Goods and Services Tax regime became effective. The President gave his assent after being approved by the state legislatures of more than 15 Indian states.

According to Article 279A(1) of the amended Constitution, the President established the GST Council, which is a joint forum of the federal government and the states. According to the new Article 279A, within sixty days from the day of the commencement of the Constitution (One Hundred and First Amendment) Act, 2016, the President shall, by order, establish a Council to be known as the Goods and Services Tax Council.

The GST Council, which oversees the Goods and Services Tax, consists of 33 members, of whom 2 come from the federal government and 31 come from the 28 states and 3 union territories that have passed the law. The following people make up the Goods and Services Tax Council:

(a) the Union Finance Minister as Chairperson

(b) the Union Minister of State in charge of Revenue or Finance as Members

(c) the Minister in charge of Finance or Taxation or any other Minister nominated by each State Government as members.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium