The Western and Eastern Ghats Meet at

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Western and Eastern Ghats meet at the Nilgiri Hills. Nilgiri hills are located in Tamil Nadu. The western and eastern ghats are separated by the Deccan Plateau. The western ghats are older than the eastern ghats and have been more heavily rusted over time. The Nilgiri mountains range from 1800 to 2400 meters, with Doddabetta in Tamil Nadu being the highest peak. The Palghat Gap divides the Nilgiri hills from the Anaimalai and Palni hills, while the Nojar River divides them from the Karnataka Plateau.

Meeting Point of Western and Eastern Ghats

The Deccan Plateau divides the two mountain ranges in India, known as the Western and Eastern Ghats. Along India’s west coast are the Western Ghats, and its east coast is home to the Eastern Ghats. At the Nilgiri Hills in Tamil Nadu, the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats converge.

The Mountain range known as the Nilgiri Hills is a component of both the Western and Eastern Ghats. The Nilgiri Hills are one of India’s highest peaks, rising to a height of more than 2000 meters. The range is home to several plant and animal species, many of which are distinctive to this region.

  • At the Nilgiri Hills, the Western and Eastern Ghats meet.
  • It encompasses the states of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Kerala and is a part of the Western Ghats.
  • Nilgiris has a temperature that is colder and wetter than the surrounding areas, making it ideal for cultivating crops, including tea, cinchona, coffee, and vegetables.
  • The IUCN classifies the Nilgiri Tahr, which is indigenous to the Nilgiri hills and Tamil Nadu’s state animal, as “Endangered.”
  • Mudumalai, Mukurthi, and Silent Valley National Parks are the three national parks that abut the Nilgiris.
  • The Nilgiri Biosphere Reserve, India’s first reserve, was created in 1986. In 2000, it became a part of the UNESCO World Network of Biosphere Reserves.


The Western and Eastern Ghats Meet at?

The Western and Eastern Ghats join at the Nilgiri Hills. They are one of the highest points in India at a height of 2000 meters. It has various types of plant and animal species, which are found nowhere across the world. The Nilgiri Hills have many national parks and wildlife sanctuaries as well. They encompass states like Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, and Kerala.

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium