How Many Attempts are Allowed for General in UPSC?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The number of attempts allowed for General in UPSC is 6, up to the age of 32. The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) limits the number of attempts for distinct classes of candidates. It should be noted that simply applying does not constitute an attempt. The UPSC attempts for the general category are lower than other categories, such as OBC/SC/ST/PwBD.

Attempts allowed for General in UPSC

UPSC allows 6 attempts for the General Category until the age of 32. A general category candidate must be at least 21 years old and no older than 32 years old at the time of the examination to sit for the UPSC Exam.

  • The EWS (Economically Weaker Section) is a sub-category of the larger category.
  • EWS Criteria are almost the same as the General category in the way that they receive the same number of chances.
  • The number of attempts is nothing less than the number of times a candidate can appear in the UPSC exam.
  • After passing the prelims exam, they appear in the Mains exam.
  • Once they are shortlisted after the Mains exam, they will be called for an Interview round.
  • After adding scores of Mains and Interviews, UPSC prepares the final list, and eligible candidates get appointed to IAS, IPS, IRS, IFS, and other reputed posts.

The table below depicts that EWS and General category has the same number of attempts, i.e., 6, whereas the aspirants belonging to PwBD (General or EWS) gets can attempt the exam 9 times.

UPSC attempt limit for General category
Category of Candidates Total Attempts
PwBD (Persons with Benchmark Disability) for General 9
PwBD (Persons with Benchmark Disability) for EWS 9
EWS (Economically Weaker Sections) 6
General 6

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium