Why do we Need a Standard Meridian for India?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 6th, 2022

There is a Standard Meridian for India so that all of its locations experience the same time. The entire nation of India uses the Standard Meridian, with its longitude of 82°30'E and passage through Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh to determine its standard time. Instead of using solar time or a locally selected meridian (longitude) to produce a local mean time standard, standard time is defined as the synchronization of clocks within a certain geographical location to a single standard time.

Standard Meridian for India

India's North-South extent is greater than its East-West extent. The following factors account for it;

  • While the difference between the latitudes remains unchanged throughout, the difference between the two longitudes diminishes as one gets closer to the poles.
  • The distance that separates two longitudes is 111 km at the equator. It is equivalent to the difference between two latitudes. It is constantly 111 km but drops to 0 km at the poles.
  • We can therefore state that India's north-south extent and distance are unchanged.
  • As the two longitudes get closer together, the east-west extends bend in a U-shape, which actually shortens the east-west distance.
  • Because of this, the longitude lines are closer together and the East-West distance is now shorter than the North-South distance.

Local timings vary from one location to another. Assam's Dibrugarh and Gujarat's Dwarka have different local times that diverge by roughly one hour and forty-five minutes in India. As a result, the national standard time must be established as the local time of the country's central meridian. The longitude of the standard meridian is 82° 30'E, or 8212° E. The national standard time is taken to be the local time displayed or reported at this meridian. For this, the Indian Standard Time is employed (IST).

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The Standard Meridian for India is located at the longitude of 82°30'E that passes through Mirzapur in Uttar Pradesh.

  • Indian Standard Time, with a time difference of UTC+05:30, is the time zone used throughout the country.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates