Who is the presiding deity in the Thousand Pillar Temple at Hanamkonda?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 4th, 2022

The Thousand Pillar Temple contains three presiding deities, Lord Shiva, Vishnu, and Surya Deva, Trikutalayam. Thousand Pillar temple is a historic Hindu temple in Hanamkonda, Telangana state of India. It was built between 1175–1324 AD.

Thousand Pillar Temple at Hanamkonda

  • It is one of the finest and earliest available instances of Kakatiya architecture, art and sculpture.
  • It was built by Rudra Deva and named the Rudreswara Swamy Temple, with Rudreswara as the presiding deity.
  • In 1163, the temple was reconstructed in the later Chalukyan and early Kakatiya style of star-shaped architecture dedicated to three shrines.
  • The three shrines are Lord Vishnu, Lord Shiva, and the Sun God, Surya.
  • These three shrines are collectively called Trikootalayam.
  • A thousand richly carved pillars are built in the shape of a star that decorates the temple.
  • The temple features perforated screens, richly carved pillars, rock-cut elephants, exquisite icons, and the monolithic Nandi dolerite.
  • The interior of the temple is built of black granite.
  • The foundations of the 100 Pillar Temple were established using the sandbox technique.
  • The pillars of the temples have richly carved patterns and perfectly circular designs.
  • The shrine of Lord Shiva faces east while the other two shrines face south and west. The shrines of Lord Vishnu and Lord Surya are connected to the main altar or shrine of Lord Shiva through a square-shaped mandapam.


Who is the presiding deity in the Thousand Pillar Temple at Hanamkonda?

The three presiding deities of the Thousand Pillar temple are Lord Surya Deva, Shiva, and Vishnu, called Trikutalayam. It is a historical Hindu temple in Hanamkonda in the Telangana State of India.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates