Who is the First Non-Indian to Receive the Bharat Ratna

By Sakshi Yadav|Updated : July 8th, 2022

The first non-resident of India who got the Bharat Ratan was Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan in 1987. He is also known as Muslim Gandhi and Frontier Gandhi because of his close consistency with Mahatma Gandhi. He belongs to Pakistan.

Bharat Ratan is the highest civilian award in India started in 1954. It is given to those people who have done exceptional work in the field of art, public affairs, science & engineering, social work, sports, trade, and industry without distinction of race, caste, position, and sex.


Who is the First Non-Indian to Receive the Bharat Ratna?

Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan was the first NRI to receive the Bharat Ratan in 1954. He is the founder of the Khudai Khidmatgar movement in 1929. The second Non-Indian to receive Bharat Ratan was Nelson Mandela in 1990.

Related Links:


write a comment

Follow us for latest updates