What was the German Parliament Called?

By Mandeep Kumar|Updated : September 5th, 2022

German Parliament was called the Bundestag. It was established on 7 September 1949 that is 72 years ago. Bundestag or the German Parliament has 598 nominal members which are elected for a four-year term. The seats of the Bundestag are distributed between the sixteen German states in proportion to the states' population eligible to vote.

German Parliament (Bundestag)

It is a German Parliament that is directly elected by the German people. The members of the German Parliament are the representatives of the German people. The German citizens over the age of 18 years elect the Bundestag. The Parliament has several functions such as:

  • participation in the legislative process.
  • the election of the chancellor and head of the government.
  • decides the government budget.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • Bundestag is the other name of the German parliament. It is preceded by the Reichstag. It is the federal representative body elected by the German people.

  • German parliament was established on 7 September 1949 that is 72 years ago.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates