Which River is Known as Dakshin Ganga?

By BYJU'S Exam Prep

Updated on: November 9th, 2023

The Godavari River is known as Dakshin Ganga. The Godavari River System, which is the largest Peninsular River System, drains six Indian States: Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka, and Orissa. After the Ganga, it is the largest river. The delta of the Godavari or the Dakshin Ganga is home to the Coringa mangrove forests and they are the second biggest mangrove development in India.

Dakshin Ganga of India

The largest peninsular river system is the Godavari, also referred to as the Dakshin Ganga or the Southern River. The Godavari River originates in Trimbakeshwar, close to Nasik (Maharashtra), and empties into the Bay of Bengal at Narasapuram in Andhra Pradesh’s West Godavari district.

The Godavari, also known as the Dakshin Ganga River, has several tributaries, including the Penganga, Wardha, Wainganga, Pravara, Purna, Manjra, Pranhita, Indravati, Maner, and Sabri. The Kumbh Mela takes place on the banks of the river, which has significant cultural significance.

Dakshin Ganga River has a length of 1,465 km with a catchment area of 3.13 lakh sq. km. The major projects on the Godavari or the Dakshin Ganga River are:

  • Sriram Sagar Project
  • Sadarmatt Anicut Project
  • Polavaram Irrigation Project
  • Kaleshwaram Lift Irrigation Project
  • Inchampalli Project

Related Questions:

Our Apps Playstore
SSC and Bank
Other Exams
GradeStack Learning Pvt. Ltd.Windsor IT Park, Tower - A, 2nd Floor, Sector 125, Noida, Uttar Pradesh 201303
Home Practice Test Series Premium